Third Floor, Judicial Side, Douglas County Courthouse - 8700 Hospital Drive
Douglasville, Georgia 30134
Douglas County Probate Court establishes the validity of wills, documents the administration of estates, appoints a guardian when none has been established, maintains vital records such as birth certificates, marriage licenses, and death certificates, and issues gun permits.
To download Probate Court forms, you may go to Georgia Probate Court Information System; a list of forms are available in Wordperfect or MSWord.
**NOTE - the forms for Temporary Guardianship are not complete in that the local Probate Court office has additional forms that are required. Please see the form under downloadable documents on the right-hand side of this web page, or you may pick up the complete package in the Probate Court Office.
ALL FORMS MUST BE COMPLETED, including necessary signatures and attachments, before this office will accept for filing.
For $15.00, you may file your will with the Probate Court for safekeeping. Only you, (or in the case of your death, your executor), will be able to access this document. See the Georgia Probate Court Information System for more information.
The Probate Court office in the Douglas County Courthouse maintains estate files back to the late 1800s. Name indexes to facilitate retrieval. The public may access such records from 8:00 to 5:00, Monday through Friday.
Creditors' Claims Against an Estate
If you are inquiring about an estate, please provide us with the name of the deceased and the approximate date of death or the Probate Court case number (in writing). A research fee of $10.00 (non-refundable) per name is required to process your inquiry. If you wish to file a formal claim against an estate, costs are $10.00 plus $2.00 per page for recording.
For the safety of our staff, we are putting the marriage license application online. Click the link to the right to download it. Couples can download, and fill out the paperwork before coming in to the office. PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT THE GROOM IS APPLICANT #1 AND THE BRIDE IS APPLICANT #2. You must still make an appointment and bring ID and the cost of the license, $56 or $16 with proof of 6 hours premarital counseling. DO NOT SIGN UNTIL YOU ARE IN THE PROBATE OFFICE.
Marriage Licenses are issued in the probate office Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:15 p.m.
(Pre-marriage blood test no longer required by law). A list of officiates available to perform a marriage ceremony is posted on the information board located in the Probate's office. Please read the following law pertaining to current judges:
Georgia Code Ann. 19-3-49. Acceptance by judges of tips, considerations, or gratuities.
In addition to any compensation otherwise provided by law, any judge who performs a marriage ceremony at any time, except normal office hours, may receive and retain as personal income any tip, consideration, or gratuity voluntarily given to such judge for performing such marriage ceremony.
The following items are required to apply for a Marriage License:
Requirements of Premarital Education (optional)
- Applicants must be 18 years of age or older.
- Identification must be provided in the form of driver's license, certified birth certificate, valid passport or some other form of valid photo ID.
- If there has been a previous marriage within the past year, you must provide a certified copy of the final divorce decree.
- Both Applicants are required to appear in person to complete the application and receive the license
- Fee is $16.00 cash, money order, or certified funds, credit or debit cards with proof of certified premarital education or
- $56.00 cash, money order, or certified funds without proof of certified premarital education - effective July 1, 2005
Beginning July 1st, 2005, all persons planning on applying for a Marriage License may successfully complete a Qualified Premarital Education Program. This program must include at least 6 hours
of instruction involving marital issues, which may include, but not be limited to, conflict management, communication skills, financial responsibilities, child and parenting responsibilities, and extended family roles. The premarital education must be completed within 12 months prior to the application for a marriage license and the couple must undergo the premarital education together. The premarital education shall be performed by:
- a professional counselor, social worker, or marriage and family therapist who is licensed pursuant to Chapter 10A of Title 43;
- a psychiatrist who is licensed as a physician pursuant to Chapter 34 of Title 43;
- a psychologist who is licensed pursuant to Chapter 39 of Title 43; or
- an active member of the clergy when in the course of his or her service as clergy or his or her designee, including retired clergy, provided that a designee is trained and skilled in premarital education.
Each premarital education provider must furnish each participant who completes the premarital education required by this Code section with a certificate of completion, which includes language referencing 6 hours of instruction. Certified Copies of Vital Records-Birth, Death and Marriage:
Effective July 1, 2010
- 25.00 Cash/Money order for certification and $5.00 for additional copy of the same certificate, same day - Birth and Death only
- $20.00 Cash/Money order for certification and $5.00 for additional copy of the same certificate, same day - Marriage only - (Certified copies of Marriage licenses only available in County of issuance; NOT County of wedding ceremony).
- Monday-Friday, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
- All requests by mail should be sent to: [include $1.00 mailing fee]
Probate Court of Douglas County
Douglas County Courthouse (3rd Floor)
8700 Hospital Drive
Douglasville, Ga 30134
See Individual Certificate paragraph for further information. Estate Filings
Petitions to Probate Estates may be filed between 8:00 am and 4:30 pm. The Probate Court will accept a personal check with the petition. Guardianship Filing
Petition for Guardianship of a minor can be filed between 8:00 am and 4:15 pm. The Probate Court accepts cash only with this Petition.
The State of Georgia Vital Records office has established a web sites for Local Custodians in which a person may request a birth certificate from any county in Georgia. Most new births are accessible within 3-5 days, and births from previous years as well. (In rare cases, due to minor problems with the system, this office will not be able to access your birth record, but in this instance you may still contact your birth county.) When requesting a certified copy, you will need a valid photo ID, as well as supplying the full name at birth, birth date, birth place (county), father's full name, mother's full maiden name, and relationship to same, which must be either mother, father, adult sibling, grandparent, or self, and the number of copies. If a guardian, be prepared to show certified proof of same.
If requesting by mail, we need the aforementioned information as well as a copy
of your valid photo ID, your signature witnessed by a Notary Public, and money order payable to Probate Court, along with your return address. Please note that a father who is not listed on the birth record and stepparents will not be authorized to receive a copy.
Only direct family members may request a copy of a death certificate for individuals who either died in Douglas County or who lived in Douglas County but passed away in another location; however, the cause of death will be omitted for anyone not directly related to the decedent. The only exceptions are insurance companies/law firms that need documentation for a case.
When requesting a certified copy, you will need a valid photo ID, as well as supplying the full name of deceased, date of death, your relationship to decedent, and the number of copies.
If requesting by mail, we need the aforementioned information as well as a copy
of your valid photo ID, your signature witnessed by a Notary Public, and money order payable to Probate Court, along with your return address.
Georgia Weapons Carry License
-- WEAPONS CARRY LICENSE – ONLINE APPLICATION --
Click here to go to the online application
1. At the ez-filing website, select the County from the drop-down list.
2. Click the ‘WEAPONS CARRY LICENSE’
link to open the application screen.
3. Inside the application, select the Application Type: New Application
4. Fill out the application and answer the questionnaire.
5. Hit Submit
6. A message will appear for required fields that are not completed. A message is also displayed for invalid entries. **Note: A Yes or No answer to all questions is required.
Please correct the following errors Please correct the following errors
- Phone Required   - Invalid Email Format
- Email Required
- Birth Date Required
7. After successfully submitting the application, summary information will be provided.
Pre-Application Number: FHO0R0G-1
Pre-Application Date: 5/15/2020
Thank you for submitting your firearms appllication.
You can send us an email
to the probate site regarding renewals. If someone is doing a renewal, but coming from a different county they will still have to come into the office for picture, payment and signature.
For first time permits everyone must come into the office for pictures, payment, and signature for the new permits (no appointment needed).
Please see the downloadable document to the right of this narrative for the Weapons Permits Requirements.